Why we all should quit sugar & how to still enjoy *nutella*

No sugar, no problem! Seriously. Take it from a recovering sugar addict.

no sugar, no problemLet me explain. A week ago I have decided to go on a 30-day sugar detox, meaning I am completely cutting out processed sugar. The only “sweet stuff” I use are honey, fresh and dried fruits.

Sugar is poison. It is addictive and  wreaks havoc on our liver, messes up our metabolism and impairs brain function. I never thought about it much and I have always eaten A LOT of it. Until 2011, when I realized that I was always tired, my hormones were a mess and I just needed to have some of it every day. So I cut it out. Completely. For a few months. And it was awesome! 🙂

A few (frightening) sugar facts*:

It can suppress your immune system and impair your defenses against infectious disease.

It upsets the mineral relationships in your body: causes chromium and copper deficiencies and interferes with absorption of calcium and magnesium.

It can produce a significant rise in total cholesterol, triglycerides and bad cholesterol and a decrease in good cholesterol.

It causes a loss of tissue elasticity and function.

It feeds cancer cells and has been connected with the development of cancer of the breast, ovaries, prostate, rectum, pancreas, biliary tract, lung, gallbladder and stomach.

It can increase fasting levels of glucose and can cause reactive hypoglycemia.

It can weaken eyesight.

It can cause many problems with the gastrointestinal tract including: an acidic digestive tract, indigestion, malabsorption in patients with functional bowel disease, increased risk of Crohn’s disease, and ulcerative colitis.

It can cause premature aging. In fact, the single most factor that accelerates aging is insulin, which is triggered by sugar.

It can cause your saliva to become acidic, leading to tooth decay and periodontal disease.

It can cause depression.

So what to do when still want something sweet? I present to you almondella! 😉

Yes, I really wanted to make (vegan) nutella, but didn’t have all the ingredients at home, so I used what was at hand. And the result was delicious!

roasted almondsWhat you need:

> 2 cups raw almonds

> 1 1/2 tbsp pure vanilla extract

> 1/4 cup cocoa powder

> 2 tbsp honey

> 1/4 tsp salt

> 1/2 cup plain soy yogurt (use the vanilla one, if it has no added sugar)

blenderWhat to do:

> scatter the almonds on a baking sheet. Roast them for 10 to 14 minutes at 420ºF/215ºC. Let cool completely and gently rub the almonds with a towel to remove the skins

> process the almonds in a food processor or blender. I used the latter, it just takes a bit more time and patience. Process until you achieve a butter-like mixture

almondella> add the rest of the ingredients and blend everything until it’s well mixed. Stop the processor occasionally to scrape down the sides

> here you go! use immediately or store in an airtight container in the fridge

> enjoy responsibly & let me know what you thing about the recipe! 😉

 

*source

 _____________________________________________________________________

More sugar-free recipes: Raw porridge

_____________________________________________________________________

Want more inspiration and health tips? Follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

7 thoughts on “Why we all should quit sugar & how to still enjoy *nutella*

  1. looks awesome! I’m going to give this a try. I have been slowly cutting sugar out of my diet and it feels so good! You don’t realize how much it affects you. My cravings for sweet things have gone down significantly and my taste buds feel more fine tuned.

    • Thanks Kerry! 🙂
      And you are so right, that’s exactly what happened to me when I decided to cut sugar out of my diet in 2011. You suddenly start feeling a whole array of tastes and appreciate the gifts of nature even more.

Leave a Reply

